How to pick a tattoo you won’t regret.

You haven’t read my bucket list, you should. One of them is for me to get a tattoo. I’ll get one when I turn 21. I have already gotten approval  from my family, on condition that I took the next two years thinking carefully about it. That I can do, since I still don’t know my job scope in life, haven’t done enough research and basically, haven’t lived long enough.

Since I’m on this side-quest (gamer alert!) in life, I might as well tell you my ideas and thoughts on myself having a tattoo.

One of the issues regarding tattoos is the fact that many people regret getting a tattoo.

I don’t really think there is much to regret over. In the olden times, tattoos were permanent due to technological limitations. Now, we have laser removal for tattoos. Yes, it will cost a bomb. Of course, it will hurt. But at least that person has no excuse to be regretful anymore.

It would definitely be better if one could avoid the whole painful process of tattoo removal. Just how do you do it? To me, it’s rather simple.

Choose a tattoo that has stood the test of time. 

Since tattoos are permanent, the significance of the tattoo should stay permanent as well. Mistakes people make when getting a tattoo, would be that the tattoo was a result of a fad or simply ‘looked pretty’. Regret kicks in when the novelty wears off.

Personally, I would never get anyone’s name tattooed on my body until I’m married. Even then, I risk regretting the tattoo. From my up bringing and personal experiences, I don’t really expect relationships to last. My doctor calls it trauma and has been relentlessly trying to get me to trust more often. But God help me, my perspective on love is in tatters.

An example of things that have and will stand the test of time, would be your name. I have had ideas of bar-coding my name and tattooing it on my nape, but gave that idea up since it really didn’t mean anything. Quotes that speaks only to you would be a very good choice as well. For example, a tattoo on the wrists that says ‘Love yourself’ may mean nothing to a stranger, but everything to a girl/boy that has self harmed. Tattoo can be a form of motivation!

I also thought about tattooing my star sign, but I threw the idea out because my star sign is stereotypically known to be the social butterfly/slut/whore. Here’s a virtual cookie is you can guess my star sign.

How to choose quotes.

Have a tattoo because you want to. Ultimately, a tattoo should speak for you since it is technically a part of you. Don’t get a quote that is witty when you’re not, don’t get a tattoo that is emo when you’re not and so on. A tattoo is on your skin. It is meant to be seen by others. It will be part of a person’s first impression or judgement on you.

Do you want to be seen as someone who is witty and fun at first glance? Or do you want to be seen as someone who is gloomy and emo at first glance? A tattoo can repel people and draw people at the same time. An example would be how the elderly would stay away from you if you have a fierce looking tiger or dragon sprawled across your back while people who see such fierce creatures as a form of strength and aggression would be more prone to approach you. Always be prepared to have this happen to you. People will look at you differently. As cliche as it sounds, getting a tattoo is definitely life changing.

Use a tattoo as a medium to express yourself better to other people.

For me, I would choose a quote that I strongly believe in. A quote that applies to the many aspect in my life that I hold dear and close to my heart. I plan to keep my tattoos vague, so that applies to many things. Nothing lasts forever in life. People come and go, times change and society changes with said times. To find a quote that is vague would be the closest to that of a timeless quote. Finding a ‘timeless’ quote on the internet is one thing. Weaving it into your life is another.

Things to watch out for if you choose a picture as your tattoo.

This one is rather basic. When tattooing an animal, flower or anything that isn’t text, please be careful where you want to tattoo them and what you want to tattoo.

Just for the hell of it, I googled up what animal tattoos meant and here’s half the list:

* Alligator – stealth, survival
* Ant – diligence, industry, community, remarkable strength, hard working, success, patience
* Antelope – action
* Armadillo – boundaries, self protection
* Badger – aggressiveness, passion and drive
* Bat – rebirth, longevity, joy, good luck
* Bear – gentle strength, dreaming, introspection, power, protection
* Beaver – builder, accomplishing goals
* Bee – divine messenger, love, service, gathering, community
* Bird – enlightenment, perspective, swiftness, vision, prophetic knowledge
* Boar – nature-based wealth, prosperity, success, protection, courage
* Buffalo – prayer, abundance, survival needs met, good fortune, healing
* Bulls horns – a good symbol in meditation for motivation
* Butterfly – rebirth, the soul, transformation, the three phases of life
* Cat – feminine energy, mystical power, used to keep the wearer safe in travel, wholeness
* Chameleons – ever-changing future, inconsistency
* Cheetah – speed, focus
* Cougar – power, swiftness, balance
* Cows – red cows are a symbol of hope, inspiring symbol for nurturing efforts
* Coyote – trickster
* Crane – longevity. A pair of cranes symbolizes “Long Marriage”
* Cricket – good luck charm, singing, Spring, fertility
* Crow – sacred law, gateway to supernatural, shape shifting, illusion
* Deer – graceful gentleness, sensitivity, compassion, kindness
* Dog – companionship, health, service, loyalty, protection, future prosperity
* Dolphin – manna, joy, childlike play, helpfulness, breath of life, harmony, intelligence, self connection
* Donkey – fertility, easy childbirth, efficiency, health, well-being, and luck
* Dove – peace, innocence, fidelity, love, gentleness, kindnes
* Dragonfly – good fortune, magic, vision, dreams, luck, and ancient knowledge, illusion
* Dragon – wisdom due to long lives and potent magic, royalty, Emperor, eternity, courage, strength, rain,

If you want to read more, the link is:

http://www.hotfreetattoos.com/tattoomeanings/animal.php

^ Once you’ve read everything, you sort of understand a little more on why certain mafias and gangs tattoo such animals.

But I’m concentrating more on the appearance of these animals, if you choose to tattoo one of the above. You see, tattoos are permanent but your body isn’t. No, I’m not saying you’re dying anytime soon. I’m saying that your skin isn’t going to stay the same like it is now forever.

So let’s say you get a tattoo of a dragon all the way up your side and you love it. The artist did a great job, the colours are vibrant and your skin doesn’t even have any allergic reactions. But think about it. One day you’ll get older. If you’re a girl, you may have kids and go up a few dress sizes. If you’re a guy, you might gain a few pounds here and there. And what’s your beautiful dragon going to look like? An earthworm. A flipping earthworm. Right up your side, baring it’s teeth at your boobs, moobs or butt.

Stretching of skin is only one side of the spectrum. What happens when you hit your 60’s? Your skin wrinkles, your body shrivels up and old spots start to form. What’s your animal going to look like then?

Call me kaisu (Singaporean slang of never wanting to lose out in anything), but I’d go for the safe spots, such as my nape or upper back; maybe my ankles, where the skin doesn’t stretch so much, if not not at all.

You should also be warmed that certain tattoos mean bad things. Not those superstitious bad things, bad things like prison tattoos. Prison tattoos aren’t common here in Singapore, probably because we aren’t bad ass enough, or I just haven’t ran into any of them yet. But it’s always good to research on the tattoo you’re getting just in case. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Where the tattoo is placed.

You can place a tattoo anywhere. From your bum all the way to your face and even your lips. But the placement of a tattoo can mean different things.

Really?

Yes really. I just found out as well. Here’s a few meanings:

Chest

  • A tattoo that is placed on the chest is often a symbol of love and affection, since the image is drawn close to the person’s heart. Individuals may choose to inscribe the names of their children or a loved one who has passed away on their chests. The chest is also a part of the body that is not often exposed, so a tattoo with a romantic meaning can be applied to the chest, so that only the person with the tattoo and the significant other can see it.

Finger

  • Small tattoos can be inscribed on the middle finger, since this finger was previously believed to have a blood vessel that was directly connected to the heart. Some people also choose to get tattoos around their left hand ring finger, where a wedding ring is traditionally placed. The tattoo serves as a permanent symbol of the bond between husband and wife and can be worn alone or with the wedding ring.

Forearm

  • In recent years, forearm tattoos were a growing trend with men, but several women have decided to get body art on this part of the body as well. The forearm is said to represent toughness or strength, and many people get a forearm tattoo to bring attention to their well-toned muscles. The tattoo also serves as motivation to keep this part of the body looking its best.

Neck

  • A tattoo on the neck usually means that someone is risky or daring and tends to make bold choices. After all, the neck is an area that will almost always be exposed, no matter what type of clothing the person has on, and this area of the body is particularly painful for tattoo placement. The images used for a neck tattoo vary based on the person’s preferences and can include symbols like hearts or flowers or the name of a loved one.

Back

  • A back tattoo could give the impression that a person is mysterious or somewhat shy. Back tattoos are not generally visible unless a person is wearing particularly revealing clothing. And, depending on where the tattoo is placed on the back, small glimpses of the image may be seen when a person stretches or bends over. Some people also choose to get tattoo on their backs at the ending of phases in their lives or relationships to symbolize that they have put these parts of their lives behind them.

Read more: The Meaning of the Body Placement of a Tattoo | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/about_6716244_meaning-body-placement-tattoo.html#ixzz2SQyGcVdH

I guess the only place I’ll never place a tattoo would be right smack at the center  of my lower back. That wouldn’t be called a tattoo any longer. It would be called a tramp stamp.

Rejected tattoo ideas from yours truly.

I’ve always wanted a tattoo and I’ve thought of some really good and bad ones. I think.

-Tattooing both my sides with corset bindings in black ink, with slim silk ribbons starting at my hip bones.

It sounds like a really good idea, till I realized that I would ultimately grow old, fat and ugly, making my sides look like I’m bursting. Still, a rather elegant tattoo to have around for like, a decade of so.

-A pair of wings on each foot starting at my ankle.

I came up with this idea when after I watch ‘Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief’ and saw the winged shoes. I would have gotten it, except it would make people think I could run really fast while I barely spend 12 hours out of my house unless I have to work of go to school.

-The Fairy Tail guild logo on my back.

Call me crazy. Call me an otaku. Call me a crazy otaku. If you don’t know what this guild logo is, simply google it. This idea is a result of me watching too much anime. Really. It would be cool if I had some sort of telekinesis, but I don’t, making me look like some stupid wannabe.

-I also wanted to tattoo an animal.
Back then I didn’t even know what the animal meant. I just wanted to tattoo an animal because it looked cool. I wanted a crow because I wanted to be a goth. I know, stupid right? 3 years down the road, do I want a crow? Nope.

So the rules are really simple. Get something that is timeless to you. Because in the end, it’s your body, your life and your mind!

xx,

Cherie

One thought on “How to pick a tattoo you won’t regret.

Leave a Reply

