5 Generations of Pokemon

tumblr_m2s9w5wK2j1r7sgoao1_500

Pokemon IS my childhood. I still make Pokemon references and use their pick up lines. I have it on my phone, PSP and PC. WHY OH WHY DID IT HAVE TO GO ON DS. GDI. Which is funny because of all the digital platforms I played Pokemon on, none were the official ones. I never had a Gameboy colour. Hell, I never had those Gameboy consoles to play Super Mario on either. My family never believed in buying anything so expensive (Because money is hard to earn, Cherie! Unquote.) for us, so while my sister gave up on whatever Pokemon and virtually related mediums there were then, I was making do with what I had. Which was a dial-up internet connection, AskJeves and Yahoo. Yes, that was my generation. I still remember being yelled up for hogging the dial-up and hacking into my parent’s dial-up account. Good times.

So while my sisters were busy making something of their adolescent lives, acing their spelling tests and mental sums, doing sports and what not, I was cozying up at home with my really, really really, really, really  huge and heavy desktop, finding another way to get my hands on what the popular kids in school were playing in school. Pokemon. I’m pretty proud to say that I managed to get the emulator up and running by myself, after reading forum after forum for tips and download tricks that didn’t exceed my computer’s bandwidth and memory. 20GB of memory was shared between the family then. Looking back, I don’t know how we survived.

When I finally got my first game running (Pokemon Yellow), I was ecstatic. Never felt so accomplished in my life. I was so happy when they dropped me off at Pallet town and I had Pikachu running around behind me. Everything. Wow. Memories.

More than 10 years down the road, I still watch Pokemon on the telly. I watch gameplays and walkthroughs on Youtube. Pokemon always changes, and no matter how old I get, I still end up going back to Pokemon. The plot is always changing. We’re always battling someone new. The Pokemons look different. Graphics are getting better. My gosh.

But most of all, I love how cute and pretty some Pokemons look. From sleek to elegant to adorable, I just can’t get enough of them. One of my most favorite side games in Pokemon Emerald (my all time favorite version), were the beauty contests. I’d surf all over Mossdeep city (actually just that two specific squares) just to chance upon a Febas and throw a fucking master ball at it. Yes, I glitched the game, but when it came down to my beauty contests, serious business.

pokemon-meme_o_169132

Not to mention, I’ve bought most of the Pokemon guides (those $60 guides to get your money’s worth from the game) to make sure I didn’t miss anything. I was pretty hardcore, pretty insane and I loved every second of it. Pokemon is probably the reason why I’m so introverted, such a geek and addicted to the internet. If I didn’t play or watch Pokemon during my childhood, I’d probably be a dancer or in some kind of sport. Maybe my stamina wouldn’t be so bad, and my heart would have been broken by a boy I’d actually seen in real life.

BUT HEY. 

1233474161402

All’s well that ends well, I quite like how I am now. At least I didn’t go out and lose my virginity when I was 16, drink or smoke. Pokemon protected me from all that. *nod nod* All hail Pokemon.

Enough with my rambling! Onward to the Pokemons!

Generation 1:
I’m actually most familiar with this generation since it’s the one I put most time and effort into this generation. I tried drawing them, trying to push the truck at the ferry to find Mew and breeding my Evees to collect all the Evee evolutions. It was a good generation and I really loved it though it was restricted to a really small set of towns and routes compared to other generations.

lapras

Lapras
ninetales

Ninetales
articuno

Articuno

dragonair

Dragonair

flareon

Flareon

jolteon

Jolteon

vaporeon

Vaporeon
mew

Mew

Generation 2:

Generation 2 was actually not too bad. I had lots of fun because I was able to seemingly start off from where I stopped in the previous generation to Jhoto (sp?). New Pokemons still retained the previous generation’s drawing style so it wasn’t too much of a change and I could still adapt. If I’m not wrong, Generation 2 was also when we weren’t gender locked anymore. 😀

celebi

Celebi

espeon

Espeon

lugia

Lugia

misdreavus

Misdreavus

suicune

Suicune

umbreon

Umbreon

Generation 3: 

absol

Absol

gardevoir

Gardevoi

kirlia

Kirlia

jirachi

Jirachi

mawile

Mawile

milotic

Milotic

rayquaza

Rayquaza

Generation 4:

Generation 4 was when Pokemon came out on DS and I had to play it on a split screen emulator on my laptop. I had to admit, Pokemon took on quite the change for this generation. They added in tons of new features as well as modified how some of the Gen 1-3 pokemons looked like or posed. I didn’t exactly like many of the new pokemon in the generation if you noticed. Only the new Evee evolutions and a psychic pokemon or two.

arceus

Arcues

cresselia

Cresselia

glaceon

Glaceon

leafeon

Leafeon

Generation 5: 

Generation 5 is by far the most confusing generation for me partly because I tried playing the Japanese version first and was entirely lost when they dropped my character off in her town. However, Gen 5 was the first time I had a grass type pokemon as my starter. I’ve always been a vain gamer. I go for looks over stats (most of the time), if not I would try to cover it up with costumes (evident in Dragon Nest). I went gaga over how the final evolution of my grass type starter turned out. It looks like a Dragonair-Milotic cross evolved with a leaf stone. Really pretty!

A few highlights of the new Pokemons were the Ice cream and Garbage pokemons. The garbage pokemon was pure rubbish (pun intended) but I thought the Ice Cream Pokemon was pretty adorable. As ridiculous as everything may have seemed, the generation was pretty interesting to play, though I had to play it on a split screen, which took me a while to get used to. I still don’t like it, but I don’t have much of a choice do I?

serperior

Spererior

vanilluxe

Vanilluxe

reshiram

Reshiram

meloetta-aria

Meloetta

lilligant

Lilligant

cinccino

Cinccino

How I wish Pokemon could be played on PC soon, just like DJ Max Trilogy. It’d be a huge jump if they turned it into an online platform as well. We wouldn’t necessarily all be in the same town, but at least we’d be able to trade Pokemons without going through forums and worrying if we’ll get cheated or not.

I’m really happy with Pokemon. I can’t believe it’s been five generations.

My gosh, I feel old. And to all that loves Pokemon, YOU ARE MY FRIEND.

Rock on,

Cherie.

Leave a Reply

