Book Review: Losing It – Cora Carmack

16034964

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

Oh hell, what can I say about this book? 

Just look at that cover.

I liked it. It’s always something about a student-teacher relationship that gets me going, even in the mangas that I read. Throw in a hot British boy/man/guy and do you hear that? That’s the sound of my panties hitting the floor.

I kid, but seriously though, I thought this good was really sweet. It had just enough angst to make my heart clench but not total destroy it, like what a lot of Nicholas Spark’s books do to me. Or recently, ‘The fault in our stars’. Never again, people, never again. While I’m on that topic, the book did have a scene or two where everything went wrong for Garrick and Bliss.

Moving along, the book was a rather nice read, something I imagine I’d read as I have tea and scones. Maybe it’s just the whole British theme going on. I don’t know.

I kind of cracked up many times at the beginning of the book, when she was trying to uh… lose it. It was cute when she fumbled and he was trying to be smooth.

image

They were cute, end of story. /notliterally

There isn’t much to flame about this book. I did think it their relationship was a little draggy at the start, but I came to realize that the book wouldn’t be as meaningful if they’d simply jumped into it. Instead, the book went slow and steady, giving the author page-space to weave more details into the book, steadily building the characters and their relationship.

There were also these pockets of extra fluffiness at certain parts of the book:

“Bliss, I don’t normally do things like that. But I was second-guessing everything about coming here, and you were everything I needed. I don’t
know how many times I’ve stopped myself from coming over here and knocking on your door. And yes, seeing you with Cade was definitely motivation, but more than that… I
just like you, Bliss. As a teacher. As a person. As a guy. –Garrick”

image

“I’m done. I won’t ignore.
I won’t pretend or resist.
I want more.”

image

At the end of the entire thing, I felt really warm and fuzzy all over because everything had fallen into place. The ending felt…whole. Like a really solid happy ending, if there is something of that sort.

Overall, I’d give this book a 4/5 stars because I’d definitely re-read this one. It didn’t go up to 5 because it was after all, a light read (a good one, though!) and didn’t exactly slap me in the face, change my life or relate to me greatly. I mean, like hell would I ever manage to date a hot British teacher that happens to be just a few year older than me. If I do, I’ll bump my rating up to a 5. Pinky promise!

Keep reading, guys!

Cherie

Leave a Reply

