Book Review: Lover Awakened – J.R.Ward

A former blood slave, the vampire Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion—until he rescues a beautiful aristocrat from the evil Lessening Society.

Bella is instantly entranced by the seething power Zsadist possesses. But even as their desire for one another begins to overtake them both, Zsadist’s thirst for vengeance against Bella’s tormentors drives him to the brink of madness. Now, Bella must help her lover overcome the wounds of his tortured past, and find a future with her…

Wow.

I read this book at 10pm thinking I could simply start a little bedtime story for myself.

Nice try

I was wrong -dead wrong.

Lover Awakened is not a light read. What was I thinking? I was sucked into the story, following the characters so closely, and if I didn’t have polish on, I’d have been biting my nails. Come to think of it, I might just have.

I picked this book up for a few reasons. I thought the story line and plot type seemed similar to Kresley Coles’, with a strong heroines and having the whole soul mate theme running through the story or series. It wasn’t what I expected but I wasn’t disappointed either.

Bella, who I’d imagine would think be a frail and vulnerable girl, turned out to be very strong as a person. Sure, she didn’t have the strength or skills of a warrior, but she definitely had an extremely strong will and determination. She did whatever the hell she wanted and fought for what she believed it, which is what I’d found very admirable.

I kid :}

Zsadist, on the other hand, his story was extremely different from all that I’d read. Even as I re-read certain paragraphs and chapters, I found it a little hard to comprehend what he was feeling. But it took me 3 hours and a good night’s/morning’s sleep to figure things out and it was heartbreaking ):

I did however, found the way he pushed her away similar to the drama in Catbug- Dramabug Minisode (It’s on youtube do check it out). After I made that connection I was hysterical.

The book in itself was tastefully complicated, giving me things to think about and characters to fuss over. I found Bella’s and Zsadist’s relationship to be very frustrating at times. Just when I thought they were about to get along and he was going to love her, he’d push her away, hurting her and I’d be reading the book like

image

WHY ZSADIST, WHY?

I was so scared that Bella would give up in the end and I’d be, well, shattered. I get attached to things way too fast.

I did, however, LOVE the way they got back with each other. It was simply the sweetest thing ever. 

“I… What are you saying, Zsadist?” she stammered, even though she’d heard every word.

He glanced back down at the pencil in his hand and then turned to the table. Flipping the spiral notebook to a new page, he bent way over and labored on top of the paper for quite a while. Then he ripped the sheet free.

His hand was shaking as he held it out. “It’s messy.”

Bella took the paper. In a child’s uneven block letters there were three words: I LOVE YOU

Her lips flattened tight as her eyes stung. The handwriting got wavy and then disappeared.

“Maybe you can’t read it,” he said in a small voice. “I can do it over.”

She shook her head. “I can read it just fine. It’s… beautiful.”

“I don’t expect anything back. I mean… I know that you don’t… feel that for me anymore. But I wanted you to know. It’s important that you knew.”

I was so relieved I almost cried, partly wondering

image

Because JUST A CASUAL SPOILER

She did AND SHE LIKED IT. 

image

Overall, I’ll give this book 5/5 Stars, mainly because

  1. Everything turned out really well and I felt strangely fulfilled.
  2. The book related to me in some strange way. Something about fighting for the love you want and never settling for less. Bella wanted Zsadist and that was who she relentlessly pursued and got, by the way.
  3. I loved it, okay? The book was different and eye opening.

So there you have it. I’m actually really excited to read the other books in J.R Ward’s series. It’s going to take me a while, but I’ll get there somehow!

Cherie

Leave a Reply

