Book Review: Price of a Kiss – Linda Kage

POAK

I don’t care what my cousin says; I am not the queen of impossible relationships. I mean, just because my last boyfriend tried to kill me and left a bit of a scar on my neck, then forced me to move across the country and legally change my name to Reese Randall to escape him, does not mean—

Oh, who am I kidding? For a freshman in college, I have to have the worst dating track record ever.

It’s no wonder love is the last thing on my mind when Mason Lowe enters my life. But the chemistry between us is like bam! Our connection defies logic. And he’s just so freaking hot. Being around him makes me feel more alive than I’ve ever felt before. I even like bickering with him. He could be my soul mate…except for one teeny tiny glitch.

He’s a gigolo.

Boy, do I know how to pick them.

DUDE

I’m super excited to be reviewing this book. For some reason, I’m really excited for it.

OH AND JUST SO YOU KNOW, I’M GOING TO SPOIL IT FOR YOU SO IF YOU WANNA KNOW THE IMPORTANT PARTS OF THE STORY BEFORE YOU READ THE BOOK THEN READ ON, IF NOT, SCRAM BECAUSE THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU.

So Reese has this psycho ex-boyfriend who’s like: 

image

So she changes her name and moves half way across the country to escape him. Which is also where she meets Mason who is all:

And she’s like:

Iwanthimforchristmas

But she can’t because he’s a gigolo hence ‘unattainable’. Pushing that out of the way, she tries to find herself a side job as a baby sitter and ends up taking care of -wait for it- Mason’s special-needs sister.

She manages to click with his sister and makes her very happy. Mason finally acknowledges her and they start this strange relationship from her giving him her breakfast because she thought she’d offended him the night before and she thought he hated her. He smiles at her and she tries to play it cool. Everything just feels so adorable, gigolo business aside.

https://i0.wp.com/media.tumblr.com/4004643e83625485b9b70ea96202c32d/tumblr_inline_mljz006AUT1qz4rgp.gif

Then there were those really random cougar moments, where teachers, doctors, etc. would pass by and remind him of their ‘appointments’, which frankly made me feel sick to the stomach and just plain weirded out.

Cougars be like:

image

And I’m lying in my bed like: 

The book even has very fluffy moments, that had me grinning like an idiot into my Kindle.

“You’re the warm sun that shines when everything else is dark,” he went on, lifting his hands to rest them on the wall on either side of my face. “A smile and a hug in a roomful of disapproval. You’re…” Wincing, he pressed his forehead against mine. “You’re everything.”

“Can I touch you?”
His lashes closed, resting on the tops of his tanned, sculpted cheeks as his smile grew broad. “You don’t have to ask.” I reached out immediately but paused within inches of contact. He must’ve sensed my hesitation because he reopened his eyes. “What’s wrong?”
I swallowed, utterly overwhelmed. “I don’t know where to start.”
Mason’s gaze warmed . He wrapped strong warm fingers around my wrist and drew my palm forward, leading me where he wanted my hand to follow. When he set it on the center of his chest, right over his heart and pressed my flesh to his as if fingerprinting my soul to his. I blinked back gratified tears.
“Start here. No one’s ever touched me here before.”

too_hot_spray

And honest to God (You’ll get this reference after you read the book so as much as I spoil it for you now, you still have to read it), Mason is such a gentleman. So much, it hurts.

“All you have to do is stretch out your hand, Mason.” Pressing my palm against my chest, I whispered, “I’m right here.”
He shook his head. “I can’t. I’m tainted.”

“His sense of responsibility toward his family was everything to him. Everything. He didn’t care if his obligations made him do things that caused him to feel trapped or had him feeling dirty until he hated a part of himself. He wasn’t going to stop taking care of Dawn and Sarah in the only way he knew how. He had sold his soul to ensure every bill his mother forgot to pay was taken care of, even the fricking babysitter’s bill.”

image

But there was ‘friend-zoning’ going on between them where Reese was all:

Because she didn’t want to fall in love with you know, a man whore.

And Mason is like:

AND IT WAS JUST TEARING ME UP INSIDE. D:

Then he confesses that he stopped his ‘business’ after they almost kissed and I was like:

omgomgomgomg

And he’s all:

AustinandAlly_feels

And she’s like:

And I’m like:

image

Because, you know, I was reading it at 3 in the morning.

But her psycho ex hasn’t appeared and his pimp hasn’t said anything so I was being really paranoid about everything.

image

THEN IT HAPPENS when they’re making out (well of course) and he gets a call from his pimp and I was like:

image

So I’m all smug about it, like I totally saw it coming, thinking ‘what’s the worst that she could do’? Then she goes and fucking BLACKMAILS him with Reese’s past and ex boyfriend.

That was just low and wrong on so many levels. YOU PLAY DIRTY, GIRL. 

So Mason ends up going back to what he does with his pimp /*SPOILER* Landlady and Reese is just so heartbroken, I could cry. In fact, I did just that. Like a little bitch.

imageimageimage

RIGHT AFTER THEY HAD THE SWEETEST MOMENT OF THEIR RELATIONSHIP. DO YOU KNOW HOW TRAUMATIZING THAT IS FOR MY HEART?

And he comes back and he’s like ‘Don’t touch me I’m not clean.’ and she’s all ‘It’s okay. I’ll clean you.’ And they’re both so heartbroken and sad, it’s like nothing will EVER get them back together because nothing will be the same again and before I know it, I’m sobbing into my plushies all over again.

imageimage

All this emotion at 4 in the morning. I had to close my Kindle and stare up at my ceiling for a while to calm myself down because the feels were too much.

I wanted to stop the book right there but I knew I couldn’t probably because I wouldn’t be able to sleep after the whole cougar+gigolo+older woman x younger man trauma. So I read on.

The more I read, the angrier I grew at the damn Landlady. Like, seriously, if I could I’d be like

imageimage

Yes, she deserves everything and more.

Just for the fun of it, I shan’t spoil how they got back together. All you need to know is that they did and Reese managed to get back at the damn landlady/cougar/pimp/slut/whore and all was good.

After all that drama (like seriously), I’ll give this book 4 stars.

Why not 5?

It’s probably me, but I don’t think I can stand re-reading this book. Maybe not the whole thing, maybe the fluffy parts. Not to mention it made me feel reallyyyyy weird for some reason, so… yeah.

BUT YOU GUYS SHOULD AT LEAST READ IT ONCE. 

Like all the way through, without skipping pages. It’s really a good book, trust me, it’s just that it wasn’t very much to my preference.

Cougar-killer out,

Cherie

Leave a Reply

