Book Review: My Life Next Door- Huntley Fitzpatrick

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

Okay, this is gonna be a short review because I’ve been so busy since school started. I’m trying to make notes and all the copying from paper to paper is murdering my hands and getting my slacker self all twitchy.

Alrighty, LET’S GET THROUGH THIS REALLY QUICKLY, SHALL WE?

Basically, Samantha is this girl who has the most prim and proper mother ever. A mother who wants everything neat, tidy, top notch and the Garretts are anything but that. The Garretts is this big family that’s really down to Earth, but nope, Grace (Samantha’s Mom), is not having any of that and for years, there had been an unspoken rule for both families (or just Sam’s family) to never interact with each other.

It is also for years that Samantha watches that family, trying to match names to her so-near-yet-so-far neighbours, which I find really sweet of her.

One day, while she’s at her usual watching/stalking spot, Jase (one of the Garret boys who’s around her age), finds her and joins her. It’s then that they get talking and she feels this thrill of knowing a Garrett boy as well as she being slowly integrated into the Garrett family. From being their neighbor to being Jase’s friend then babysitter and eventually, girlfriend. So you can imagine it being all rainbows and ponies for a while after they met.

Jase:

Samantha:

Them:

On the way, you see alcoholic Tim:

The rest of the Garrett kids: 

And this guy called ‘Clay’ who happens to be Grace’s boyfriend and a total dick: 

The book had it’s moments where I was almost late for a class because I couldn’t put my Kindle down. Like when Clay was being such a jack off and blackmailing Samantha into breaking up with Jase.

Then guilt tripping Jase and Samantha

And breaking up with Grace because she wasn’t on the ‘winning’ team anymore

In short, I don’t care if Clay saved Samantha’s butt that one time, he’s an asshole. End of story.

Personally, I felt the book kind of dragged on a little bit. There were, in my opinion, too much meaningless kisses. The gesture was sweet and all, but I felt that it was greatly unnecessary.

The book was, however, very mature. Not in a sense that were was sex everywhere, but that the characters handled the problems really well. I’m not sure if it ultimately made the book a tad bit boring for me, but hey, it could have been worst. I could have not finished it at all. Sad to say, this book never really stirred enough emotion from me to overreact in any way.

So I really meant it that this review was going to be short. I wouldn’t say the book was bad, there just isn’t much I can say about it, in fact I almost gave up writing this review halfway through. I don’t think I’ll be re-reading it because I felt like it was a biography instead of a fiction novel so…

Overall, 2 stars. ):

That’s all.

Cherie

Leave a Reply

