AFA’13!

Hello!!! If you don’t already know, November is my favourite month of the year! No, it’s not just because it’s my *cough* birthday *cough* month.

At this time of the year, monsoon season starts and I get to wear comfy sweaters and wool caps out of the house. Somehow, people start being nicer to each other (probably because Christmas is coming) and I break out less on my face. But most importantly,

November is the month that Anime Festival Asia is held in.

A festival where I can be totally out of character and myself with just anyone because no one would judge me at all! I mean, why judge me for my explosive reactions when you’re the one with your face paint and synthetic green hair?

Aye, this is the time where I can finally make cringe worthy cutesy faces, dress up like a fictional character, daringly bare my legs and take photos with anything and anyone at all!

I love this convention because it’s so colourful and exciting to visit and take part in. Figurines and manga over here, karaoke competitions over there and oh my pickle, is that pedo bear?!

I went for 2 of 3 days, both in different outfits. For both days, I had a blast and the most epic time in months. Here’s the low down!

DAY #1:
image
The day started with the ‘Attack on Titan’ set up near the entrance (not quite) where I could pretend I was a titan myself. Too bad I turned out to be a rather puny and not exactly intimidating one which would probably be taken down solely because she was too busy being distracted by her own reflection. :/
image
Impossible to miss was this gigantic titan inflatable head that was also set up next to the booth. It looked pretty creepy up close. You’d think that after nearly eating the entire human race they’d grow some skin.
image
Up next was this Gintama boobie mouse pad that was so downright ridiculous I just had to take an even dumber picture of.
image
image
Sword Art Online’s booth was hard to miss as well. It seemed a little bare when I got there (12noon) but later found out that it was because everything in that booth had been sold out. Wtf.

Fun fact, I’ve never watched SAO before despite my friends practically threatening to strap me to a chair and pry my eyes open with toothpicks.

I don’t because of personal reasons. It’s complicated and all anyone really needs to know is that I don’t like to be reminded. If you’re smart and can put two and two together, I’ll allow you to assume.
image
Here’s a picture of both my outfit of the day and me trying to imitate one of the girls on the walls ๐Ÿ˜€
image
A pretty interesting figurine over here. She can be programmed to move by herself! Something I find both amazing and creepy at the same time. I don’t know about you, but a modern day ‘Chucky’ inspired senerio is starting to unravel in my head.
image
Here’s another OOTD picture taken at the Cannon booth. They were doing free photo printing (!!!) and were pasting copies of us (anyone who takes a picture at their booth) on their walls as an entry to their lucky draw. The winner stood a chance to win a Cannon selphy printer and camera!
image
image
Shots taken with my gaming and now cosplay buddy, Cedric, while waiting for our photos to be printed. (:
image
Remember how I said I could take pictures with anyone and that I saw pedo bear? Yeah.
Not quite there, but close enough. He was the only one I saw in my two days of festive events!
image
I STOPPED WATCHING THIS ANIME BECAUSE TUMBLR SPOILED IT FOR ME BY SHOWING ME CHARACTER DEATH SCENES.

But I love them, they’re still super hot, cool and I could bask in their auras for forever.
image
Apparently they’re trying to bring the Internet Explorer back by personifying it as an extremely moe (adorable, pretty and I-could-just-eat-you-up-cute all smushed together) anime character. I’m just in the space because it looked like a good opportunity to take another narcissistic photo. Google Chrome FTW.
image
While Cedric started queuing for his very expensive full-body ecchi pillow, I walked around by myself and chanced upon this very detailed and stunning cosplay of Joker’s Daughter. I got so excited because I was just talking about her comic with my other group of friends earlier that day and here she was in front of me at an anime festival of all things.

Definately the rarest picture of the day.
image
When I got back, my buddy had somehow managed to spend $125 on three Super Sonica figurines in a span of 15 minutes.
image
As well as make friends with two other people in the queue infront of us. Here’s to making new friends!
image
Being an extreme Super Sonica fan, cosplay buddy bought this tee shirt. Yes, in that size.

When he asked for the shirt, the people were baffled and asked why he wanted something he couldn’t possibly ever wear. His response?

‘Uh, it’s because I don’t wear my shirts, I frame them up.’

This caused the owner to go hysterical, whip out his phone and take a picture of Cedric holding his shirt up. Why?

‘Because this boy didn’t buy this shirt to wear, he bought it for worship!’

Things got even crazier when Cedric showed him his bag of figurines. What happened after that, I’m not even sure how to put it.
image
The festival wasn’t as big as last year’s that was held in the Expo Hall so we sort of ended up walking endless rounds looking at things over and over again when something caught my eye.

MOST OF MY K PROJECT BISHIES WERE GONE AND ONLY FUSHIMI WAS LEFT.

I was all. ‘OMG. Where are they? You can buy them? I need to buy Fushimi, he’s my favourite!!! !@#$’

It’s probably his hair, or his glasses or his sword but he is just TOO COOL, OKAY?
image
We made even more new friends! Here’s one with Vienna as Mrs France from Hetelia!
image
And Ken (yes, he’s a guy.), cosplaying as a game character from a game he had to proxy from America(I think)!

We made friends and plans to meet up again the next day because both of us were coming again :>
image
I have no idea which anime he’s supposed to be from but his cosplay was awesome.
image
image
image
And here are pictures of figurines that are so massive, beautiful and artistic that one look could tell you that you probably wouldn’t be able to afford it.
image
What? They put a little space in between. Obviously it’s for me to join the harem, right?
image
My eyes are closed in this picture. Why? Because this pop-up stand was placed on a little stage and somehow I’d managed to draw a crowd. So while I was posing for my own pictures, random people were taking pictures of me too.

Something I would find more weird and guilty for than complimented because one, why would you take pictures of someone else and two being that the only logical answer to my rethorical question is that it was because they thought I was some well known cosplayer, when I obviously am not.

Not to mention, one of my school friends walked by while I was going through my very awkward situation and gave me the most horrified look ever.

Cherie, you are very out of character. You’re normally quiet around strangers but here you are on stage striking violent poses for a crowd of people who may or may not come from your country or generation. Yes, I know. But this is AFA. Now shush.
image
Of course, a very mandatory Hatsune Miku shot!
image
We got bored and extremely tired after 5 straight hours of walking through crowds and taking pictures so we (now a party of six because another friend dropped by) decided to sit around outside the convention hall to have a little break.

Occasionally, people would request to take pictures with us. I’ve never felt so famous and important in my life. Rofl.
image
Now look and her. ISN’T SHE THE CUTEST LITTLE GIRL, EVER? I cannot start on how much I melted and fangirl-ed over her the moment I saw her. She was moe to the extent that I almost screamed. Can you believe she’s only 14?!
image
This is her friend! Also a very nice cosplay. They really made people chase after them! xD
image
At the end of the day, I managed to get all these photos for FREEEEEEE and made friends with one of the exhibitors!

DAY #2:
image
I’m not sure if I was too excited or if it was all the flu tablets and other unmentionable medication that I’m prescribed because I am actually a man but I couldn’t sleep a wink that night.

I’d tossed and turned in bed for hours before as good as napping for an hour an a half in bed only to wake at 3am in the morning. After which I’d probably tried too damn hard to sleep and gave up another hour and a half later, deciding to just admit defeat.

So yes, I was awake since 3am that day for AFA Day 2 and didn’t sleep till roughly 1am that night/morning.

Short story over, on AFA Day two, I dressed my cosplay buddy up as a ‘trap’, more crudely referred to as ‘hidden saussage’. Since I didn’t sweat much or at all the previous day, he asked if I could loan him my outfit from AFA Day 1 as well as one of my wigs so that we could cosplay together as sisters.

Of course I agreed.
image
Here’s Tian Hao, whom had dropped by rather late the day before and was back for more on day two!

Somehow he wasn’t fazed that a ‘trap’ was taking pictures with him. Instead,they’d quickly turned into bros within the day. Lol.
image
I will take pictures with anyone, anything, with the most act-cute face, at any given time and place.
image
Tian Hao’s shot with the giant head. Somehow I can’t stop thinking of how it looks like I’d simply photoshopped him into this picture.
image
image
We met up with Ken too! He was dressed as Claire Bannet from Heros! ๐Ÿ˜€
image
Cedric’s full OOTD. Woohooo! More people mistook him as a girl with the mask on ๐Ÿ˜›
image
image
image
An extremely adorable fight scenario between Sanji and Zoro from One Piece!
image
Shy Tian Hao, who wanted to cosplay Sanji before he got his haircut, took a photo with him!…much to my forceful persuasion hehehe…
image
The rule still applies, anytime, anyone, anywhere. Let’s try not to think dirty, now.
image
I’m not quite sure which anime this is from but it was really cool that they came as a co-ordinated group. Too bad they were standing against the light.
image
Wow. Lookie here, it’s Dragon Kaiser from Maple Story! Nyehehehehe
image
Candid shot of Cedric looking bored as well as dying in my 2 inch heels.
image
There were two slendermen at the convention then, one with a black tie, the other with a red. I thought the red one was more legit, though he turned out to be a little too short for me, I guess I’ll take what I can get.
image
image
I’d liked to have taken a picture with the entire terrorist cosplay squad, but I guess I’ll just have to settle for these two very menacing bodyguards of mine, one of which were nice enough to lend me a prop!
image
We kind of ran out of things to take pictures of so here’s a photo of me taking pictures with the giant head again, just in a different outfit. LOL.
image
Then we remembered what was missing from our day. Lunch.
image
Afterwards, we met up with Ken again to chill and hang out, looking for more cosplayers to take pictures with.
image
While waiting, Ken started asking where Cedric got his bra from, to which he replied that it was mine. Somehow, we started talking about the different kinds of brasseries and padding.
image
Then came Ken’s friends who were cosplaying twin Black Rock Shooters. One of them was cross dressing as well! And he was really good at it.
image
Back to playing the waiting game, I finally realized that Cedric didn’t stuff his bra so the undergarment was painfully concave. I guess ‘Added Support Wiring’ could be good for somethings…

I managed to come up with this though:
image
image
We also decided to take advantage of our attempted twin cosplay attempt and put Tian Hao into another picture! :}
image
We started moving again, which is when I spotted the Dragon Nest Kali and Assassin cosplay! Look as the conviction I put in as I pose next to my main gaming character’s cosplay. LOL.
image
We also saw the most and only convincing Thor cosplay.
image
And I found my very first childhood crush!!! Talk about ending the day on a sweet note! Let’s not talk about the hovering hand, he got close enough. Hehe.
I didn’t manage to get any photos printed for the second day, but I did put my face into many facebook pages as I could!

Here you go :
AFA KitkatAFACANNONInori
image image
image image

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “AFA’13!

  1. Hi there! Just stumbled over your blog! I’m glad you had fun while you were in AFA! Same goes for me and it was certainly worth my trip from Malaysia xD
    Btw, I’m the Kali cosplayer and your pose next to mine was great! 8D

Leave a Reply

