INTERNAL SCREAMING


Hey guys, how has it been. I know, I’ve been MIA for a long-ish while but I’ve a good reason for it.

As much as my mother doesn’t know and my father suspect, I’ve actually officially started working, or more like drawing a full time job’s salary while training.

Yeap, I got the job.
image
Questions regarding whether I miss studying/school or not… I’m not sure which is worst at the moment.

I knew this job was going to be hard for me. I thought long and hard after I got the call back and had sleepless nights over it but I signed it anyway. Why? Because I probably wouldn’t be able to find a better paying job with my current level of education and contribute to the household expenses.

By the time it was a week before orientation, I was in my worst and lowest of moods. I didn’t want to talk to anyone and I was dreading my time before work started. Not to mention, I’d to take two external papers to qualify for my position and had failed one of the two. Demoralization weighed on me like nothing else.

THE BOOTCAMP:

Training kicked off with orientation, talking about the company and core values before we started interacting with each other. I was so relieved when I saw two people who sat for the external exams on the same day as me at my table. Thankfully they recognized me (as the headphones girl) and we were friends in no time.

The stressful part only came when our trainers introduced themselves to us. Telling us our duties and risks if we didn’t process documents well, highlighting punctuality, grooming and the ever so dreaded three strike rule.

Punctuality:

Being late for even a minute in the morning could result in my termination. No kidding. No one believes me when I tell them that. This means I have to take the first shuttle bus (Thank God) at 7.30am. To get there in time to be somewhere in the queue, I have to wake up at 6am to start preparing. Yeap, I wake up at 6 in the morning now. I never knew my life would come to this.

Grooming:

I wear make up now. Or at least I know how to. According to my job scope, I have to wear make up. Eyeliner, foundation, blusher and lipstick is mandatory in no particular order. To make things worst, my faces gets so oily even in an air conditioned training room because I don’t have any primer. It’s the worst feeling ever and I’m slowly bending the rules by skipping eyeshadow (do that I can rub my eyelids) and eyeliner (not that it matters because I have inward double eyelids that make me look mono-lidded) just so that I can wipe my tears when I yawn and possibly oil off my face without having it look like Mulan spilled tea all over my face.

Recently, I’ve even started skipping blusher since I’m being teased and paired up with this one guy who sits beside me in class. Apparently, I blush easily. Which is new.

Hair wise, it has to be up in a bun which is okay until it starts giving you splitting headaches after lunch (of all times) and affecting your studies.

Three strike rule:
image
Perhaps what is stressing me out the most would be this. Basically, three chances to not get yourself fired. In a way, your future is in your hands but at the same time, it depends on the traffic in the morning and your ability to cram as much info in your brain within 8 hours.

How it works: 
Besides the possibility of being terminated for being late three times on any account during training, you have three tries to retake tests, which seems pretty damn reasonable until I tell you that you have a test almost everyday and even though it’s on whatever you’ve learnt about for the day, you have to consider the fact that everyday you will be learning something entirely new to you (especially if you have no banking experience) every single waking moment of your trainee life.

Oh, and the passing mark is 75% for 15-30MCQ questions.

So far, I’ve failed two tests on my first try but passed it on my second attempt. Phew.

Major Mug-fest:
image
I swear to God, I’ve never mugged so hard and consistently in my life.

Wtf is a pre-read?
Wtf are notes?

I thought those were things of the past (though I’ve never bothered pre-reading anything ever). Apparently it’s a make or break when it comes to passing tests at the end of the day. Something I learnt the hard way when I brought the wrong set of notes back to work (I tried pre-reading) and ended up failing the test. Bye-bye, best trainee.

You can imagine my daily routine to be like so:
Rushing to work:

Starting Class:
image
Not Understanding Anything In Class:

Tea Break:
image
Back to Class:
image
Lunch:
image
Back to Class:

Tea Break:

Hands On:

Test:

After Test:
image

And repeat.

Yeap, that’s my life now.

Kinda prefers being on the stupid list,
Cherie

Leave a Reply

