Tokyo’15 Day #1

image

A little late on the updates, I know. Alot has been happening but I’ve decided to cover this event first.

I haven’t said anything but…

I’M IN JAPAN!!!

image

Despite flying SQ, my flight was still uncomfortable. I know, I shouldn’t be complaining. It was really much better than my last flight to Taiwan, just that there was this one guy who managed to fall asleep before anyone else and snored to his heart’s content for the next 7hours of everyone else’s miserable lives.

I finally asked Nii-san to help me get ear plugs because the snoring was starting to drive me insane at 4am. At the back of my mind, I remember remarking how pampered I am, especially when three pillows magically popped out of nowhere when I tossed again at 5am.

image

I didn’t manage to sleep in the end and Japan turned out to be really hot and humid, pretty similar to Singapore. Nii and I hung around the airport a little and I bought a dress to change out of because the heat was stifling.

image

Lugging our luggage, we made our way towards Asakusa Station where our Airbnb apartment was located. Extremely tired from our flight, we stoned and attempted to make conversation with each other for the next 2hours of our lives.

image

Over at Asakua, we looked for lockers to drop off our baggage but all of them were taken. In the heat, we ended up dragging everything (luggage and wasting-away bodies) for 20minutes to the Tokyo Skytree.

image

I got really pissed off because Nii kept walking under the sun, making be feel really pissed off and I started snapping at him. Eventually, he parked me under a sheltered bus stop to run for directions. Five minutes later, we reached the skytree, found a bag deposit and started off looking lunch.

image

While hunting for lunch, I got terribly distracted by this gudatama shrine. Decided to buy a few gifts for my friends back home.

image

I decided on getting curry rice for our first Japanese meal in the land of the rising sun but got distracted again by an onigiri stall.

image

And finally, curry rice.

image

Our little rest stop didn’t do our feet any favors and we ended up giving up for the day and heading back home.

image

image

Back home, the bed was SUPER COMFY and huge. We even had a bathtub which I fell asleep in and almost fainted trying to dress myself after.

Initially, we were both too tired to leave the apartment anymore but it was only 7.30pm then so we decided not to waste the night and head down to all the 24hr marts we could find.

AND WOW DID WE FIND A WHOLE LOT OF STUFF.

image

Y-Y-Y-YAKITORI

image

TWO DOLLAR BEER???

image

ENDLESS AISLES OF CUP RAMEN.

I wasn’t sure where to start so Nii suggested we go have beef bowls before going back for groceries.

image

When we left the mart, I’d only realized how dark it got and it was 8pm.

image

image

image

Here’s the Kimchi Beef bowl from Matsuya!

image

As promised, Nii brought me to other 24hr marts and we ended up at Don Quijote.

image

image

Here’s my most proud purchase for today because who knows what I’ll do tomorrow?

RILAKKUMA CONDOMS

I saw them and just had to have them. *nods* Who knew this would be how I end up buying condoms, right?

image

Afterwards, we walked back to the 24hr supermart called ‘Life’ because I wanted half price sushi but everything was sold out. Instead, I found two dollar jellyfish and octopus, which turned out to be exemplary for it’s price. It’s really insane.

And that concludes day one! I’m heading to Ikebukuro. I’m suuuuper excited for it!

Till tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

