Tokyo’15 Obon Festival

image

We decided to go yukata shopping around our Asakusa district instead of Comiket because it was seriously too hot out and there was no way I was squishing in cosplay with a thousand other sweaty bodies.

image

We found a great place at ROX that amazed me with their extremely colourful displays of silk kimonos. Definitely getting one in this lifetime. Talk about wedding goals, I’m terrified of the idea of it. But wow, such pattern, much kawaii, very silks.

image

image

image

image

I finally decided on one, though it was not from the shop above (people are on a budget you know) and wore it out to go look around at the festival.

Initially, I wanted to have something of a darker color and definitely not pink but I thought why not? It’s not like anyone here knew me. If anything, it was my chance to finally be a demure creature of the female species- or at least pretend to be one. My life moto is ‘Fake it till you make it!’ anyways.

And by God, demure sure as hell is tiring. I had to take so many more steps because I couldn’t take big ones.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Somehow, we found our way to the Sensoji Temple. The gates were really huge and there were so many people queuing up to pray.

image

Here’s a picture Nii snapped. Can you guess what he was trying to do?

Yeah. Trying to play the ‘Who can get the most yukata clad girls in one frame’ game. Very much like the one with fishes from around the world on Miniclip. Does anyone even remember that place? Or is it only me.

image

image

image

Moving on, we turned into a street/lane that was filled with tons of Japanese street food and souvenirs. It reminded me so much of Taiwan for a moment, except I didn’t get to see most of the food being displayed. There wasn’t much variety too, you just knew there was food being sold there. Nii and I would have sat down (I think?), except convenience stores were our lives now. And Calpis soda. Never forget the Calpis soda.

Later in the day, we went back to our apartment, showered and headed out again. It’s nice that we get to go out so late and there would still be food waiting for us at Don Quijote or any other 24hour mart. I mean, sure walking back to our apartment through our dodgy alley at 12am can sometimes be creepy but remember kids, I quote the unspoken rule of Amnesia, don’t look back.

Either way, (dodgy, creepy or whatnot) I still feel pretty damn comfy where I am now and there’s still tons to check off the Japan to-do list.

Till next time!

X

Leave a Reply

