Tokyo’15 Ikebukuro

image

I think it’s kind of unfortunate how I only managed to visit Ike in the last few days of my trip because I was too broke by then. ._.

image

image

image

Aaaaanyway. Nii and I decided to go visit Tokyu Hands, which is supposed to be the biggest one in Japan (?).

There was a cat cafe on the 8th floor, but we were both too poor to enter so Nii brought me to go look at birds, tortoises and… HEDGEHOGS???!!! Unfortunately, I never got a chance to take a picture of the hog because they were both sleeping and well, I don’t think I was allowed to.

Can you believe a love bird costs more than a hedgehog in Japan? Egad! I’d have the hedgehog anytime and name it Sonic. Then have all my friends hate me for having the coolest pet ever and then naming it some punny name for shits and giggles.

image

image

image

image

In other news, Tokyu Hands was huge and we took at least 2hours browsing through and finding weird stuff like tiny rubber turtles for God knows what, and ice shavers because shaved ice is apparently a huge thing in Japan.

image

We found a Mister Donut while walking aimlessly and I decided wanted to sit and rest with a Pon de Ring but couldn’t because they were running a full house. ):

Pon de Rings are glazed mochi donuts and are definitely a must try at only 100yen!!! Sometimes I buy them repeatedly within a short time span and get embarrassed at myself.

So obviously the only solution is to buy a couple, have a seat and wait for the cashiers to change before getting up and buying more. 😄

image

image

image

We didn’t have much to do since we had no money to actually buy anything, so we went window shopping at what was probably going to be my last Animate in a while (or at least till next year) before heading home early. *sob*

image

image

The next day (or the day we flew back), we dropped our luggage at the baggage deposit at the Skytree (really handy) and window shopped at the mall. I had to get a few last minute souvenirs too.

image

image

I’m not sure how I missed it, but there was a freaking Rilakkuma store at the Skytree as well. The above picture is one with me and the dream Kkuma-kun. He’s half the price of that in SG but I couldn’t buy him because I was broke ;_;

image

image

image

Having walked most of the mall, we finished walking the rest in an hour and had tons of time to kill before we flew off.
Nii and I took a 45min stoning break before we decided to actually get up and start walking again. We then lost our way and couldn’t find the escalator to the 1st floor. You know, for something that looks like a tall skinny thing, you wouldn’t expect it’s interior to be so frustratingly complicated.

Somehow, we finally found our way out and decided to visit Ultimatecoffee again. I’m seriously in love with the design of the bar and everything. The coffee was amazing so we bought some back to grind and make at home.

image

image

image

Walking back to take our train to the airport, I spotted a more vacant Mister Donut and practically dragged Nii into it.

I started out with one Pon de Ring thinking it was all I needed but I was wrong because their Pon de Rings are to freaking die for.

I would have managed to get another ring without the cashier judging me in Japanese monolouge, if only I didn’t call Nii an asswipe for not doing something (I’m not sure what anymore). Basically I muttered ‘asswipe’ and he said ‘then buy your own damn donut you fatty’.

And if anyone is asking, I did buy that damn donut.

I asked for it to go (clever right) and ate it before we even got into the mall, which was literally less than a block away. Lol.

image

I’m not sure why Nii wanted me to try this. After all, we were already running late to the airport when we walking into Zara.

Note to self, bring more money to shop at JP Zara because it’s muchhhh cheaper. I’m not sure why and how but… I’ll just pretend it’s magic.
#everythingismagicifyoudontunderstandit #unlessitsmath #mathisntmagical #dontdomath

image

The fact that I finally had to leave was heartening. I never felt like I was in a foreign country while I was in Japan. I probably acted like a tourist but I never felt like one. /shrug

Everyone is so polite and friendly, it inspires me to be a slightly nicer person as well ;u;

Anyway, it kinda sucks because the next day after I touchdown, I’m back in mundane Singapore without Matsuya and 100yen onigiri and preparing for a full shift at work.

Oh well, life goes on. I guess I’ll just wait till I go again next year!

X

Leave a Reply

