If only I knew

image

I wish giving my heart away was as easy as holding it out in the palm of my hand towards him,
Broken but bleeding.

I wish taking it back was as simple as sweeping it’s shards back into my chest.

But we don’t give our hearts away like that.

Our hearts are broken as it is when we first recieve it and we give it away one piece at a time.

We give it away day by day when he smiles at us.
We give a small piece each time we think of him,
A large chunk when he as much as touches us.

I wish I knew that was how I’d lose my heart sooner, I wouldn’t be up at night wondering why I feel so empty otherwise; waiting for my aching heart to crawl back into my chest.

Leave a Reply

